Son and successor of King Disampati. On the death of his father Reṇu, with the advice and co operation of his chief steward Jotipāla, who was also his great friend, divided his kingdom into seven parts and shared it with his friends—Sattabhū, Brahmadatta, Vessabhū, Bharata, and the two Dhataratthas.

The seven divisions of the kingdom were called Kalinga, Assaka, Avanti, Sovīra, Videha, Aṅga and Kāsi; their capitals were, respectively, Dantapura, Potana, Māhissatī, Roruka, Mithilā, Campā and Bārāṇasī. Reṇu himself occupied the central kingdom. A.ii.228–236