Indriya: ‘abilities’, is a name for 22, partly physical, partly mental, phenomena often treated in the Suttas as well as in the Abhidhamma. They are:

6 Bases āyatana:

  1. eye: cakkhu
  2. ear: sota
  3. nose: ghāna
  4. tongue: jivhā
  5. body: kāya
  6. mind: mano

Gender bhava:

  1. femininity: itthi
  2. masculinity: purisa
  3. vitality: jīvita

5 Feelings vedanā q. v.

  1. bodily pleasant feeling: sukha
  2. bodily pain: dukkha
  3. gladness: somanassa
  4. sadness: domanassa
  5. indifference: upekkhā

5 Spiritual Abilities see: bala

  1. faith: saddhā
  2. energy: viriya
  3. awareness or mindfulness: sati
  4. concentration: samādhi
  5. understanding: paññā

3 supra-mundane Abilities

  1. the assurance: ‘I shall know what I did not yet know!’: aññātañ-ñassāmīt’ indriya
  2. the ability of highest knowledge: aññindriya
  3. the ability of him who knows: aññātāvindriya

1-5, 7-8 are physical; 9 is either physical or mental. All the rest are mental. - 14 see: upekkhā is here merely indifferent feeling = adukkha - m - asukhā vedanā i.e. ‘neither pleasant nor unpleasant feeling’ and not identical with that highly ethical state of equanimity = tatramajjhattatā i.e. ‘keeping everywhere the middle’, the equipoise of mind, also called upekkhā which belongs to the group of mental constructions sankhāra - khandha see: Tab II. - 20 arises at the moment of entering the Sotāpatti- path sotāpatti - magga 21 on reaching the Sotāpatti-Fruition sotāpatti - phala 22 at attaining the Arahat-Fruition arahatta - phala For the three last, see: ariya-puggala

The abilities, excepting 7 and 8, form one of the 24 conditions paccaya 6.

In Vibh. V all these abilities are treated in the above order, whereas see: XLVIII enumerates and explains them by way of the above indicated groups, leaving only 20-22 unexplained. See Vis XVI; path 138ff. - For the 5 spiritual abilities 15-19, see: The Way of Wisdom WHEEL 65/66.