position of a master or lord, station of mastery. The traditional account of these gives 8 stations or stages of mastery over the senses (see Dial. ii.118; Exp. i.252), detailed identically at all the foll. passages, viz. DN.ii.110; DN.iii.260 (& DN.iii.287) MN.ii.13; AN.i.40; AN.iv.305, AN.iv.348; AN.v.61. Mentioned only at SN.iv.77 (6 stations); Pts.i.5; Cnd.466 (as an accomplishment of the Bhagavant); Dhs.247.

abhibhū + āyatana