constituent of Sambodhi (enlightenment), of which there are seven: sati, selfpossession; dhammavicaya, investigation of doctrine viriya, energy; pīti, joy; passaddhi, tranquillity samādhi, concentration; upekhā, equanimity DN.ii.79 DN.ii.303 sq.; DN.iii.106, DN.iii.226; MN.i.61 sq.; AN.iv.23; SN.v.110 sq. Cnd. s.v. Mil.340; Vb-a.135, Vb-a.310. The characteristics of the several constitutents together with var. means of cultivation are given at Vism.132 sq. = Vb-a.275 sq.

saṃ + bojjhanga