One of the 16 Great Nations (Mahājanapadā), mentioned in the Pitakas. The countries mentioned are Aṅga, Māgadha, Kāsī, Kosala, Vajji, Mallā, Ceti, Vaṃsa, Kuru, Pañcāla, Macchā, Sūrasena, Assaka, Avantī, Gandhāra, and Kamboja. AN.i.213 AN.iv.252 AN.iv.256 AN.iv.260 DN.ii.200

It was to the east of Māgadha, from which it was separated by the River Campā, and had as its capital city Campā. Another city mentioned is Assapūra. MN.i.271

In the Buddha’s time the Aṅgarājā was just a wealthy nobleman, and he is mentioned merely as having granted a pension to a Brahmin. MN.ii.163 The people of Aṅga and Māgadha are generally mentioned together, so we may gather that by the Buddha’s time they had become one people. They provide Uruvelā-Kassapa with offerings for his great sacrifice. Vin.i.27

Several discourses were preached in the Aṅga country, among them being the Soṇadaṇḍa Sutta and the two Assapura Suttas. The Mahāgovinda Sutta seems to indicate that once, in the past, Dhataraṭṭha was king of Aṅga. But this, perhaps, refers to another country.

Soṇa Koḷivisa, before he entered the Order, was a squire (paddhagu) of Aṅga. Thag.632

25.25, 871janapada